Skill Tree Reshuffle proposal, and various other balance suggestions

Thanks to the HG:L 2038 team for all your work in reviving a game I remember fondly and has so much potential.

Which brings me to this post’s topic of Balance. Always a fun one, and something I have a small amount of experience in through several game re-balance projects, both finished and ongoing, which I will list for reference here:

And a bunch of other smaller projects along these lines.

While i’m no expert by any means (and lets be honest no one is when it comes to game balance) If I could be so bold I have a proposal primarily about the structure of the skill trees in 2038.

I have made a google sheet which shows how I would go about structuring each tree which you can find here

I’ve thrown this together over a single evening and its probably incomplete, contains oversights or otherwise bad ideas, but I will summarize my changes here:

1. Move important build around skills further up the tree, and useful/powerful benefits to those skills or other utility further down the tree:

A common thing I find myself doing in this game on certain classes while leveling is saving up a large number of skill points simply because I have nothing useful to spend them on that wouldn’t compromise my build in the long term. For this reason I have moved many skills to the 1, 5 and 10 skill tiers that you might otherwise be waiting until 15, 20 or even 30 for

1. Share more skills between classes where appropriate:

In some cases where trees were lacking options or the restriction didn’t make sense to me, I have mirrored skills from other classes inside the same archetype (such as between Hunters or Templars.) I’ve took the most recent patch’s change of duplicating the Toxic line of skills between Evoker and Summoner, but I’ve also added Multibeacon and EMP Blast to Engineer’s arsenal, and Spider Mines to Marksman’s among other things